Uranus Symbol

Uranus in Astrology


Rulership: Aquarius
Detriment: Leo
Keyword: Break-through

Uranus, the seventh planet from the sun, is known as one of the Ice Giants, along with Jupiter, Saturn and Neptune. This is because its atmosphere contains a high proportion of ices such as water, ammonia, and methane, and partly because it is the coldest planetary atmosphere in the Solar System, with a minimum temperature of around negative 371 degrees Fahrenheit. It is named after the ancient Greek deity of the sky, the father of Kronos (Saturn) and grandfather of Zues (Jupiter). However, it has been argued that Uranus finds more mythological relevance in Prometheus.

The astrological Uranus rules Aquarius and is exalted in Scorpio. It is known as the planet of freedom and revolutionary vision, the urge for change, and the ability to visualize new possibilities. Jeff Green has referred to this energy quite appropriately as "freedom from the known." In its astrological symbolism Uranus typically defies tradition and embraces change and originality. It is also associated with the coming Age of Aquarius and rules the Internet, mental studies, technology, electricity, and Astrology! Its position in your chart indicates the arena of originality and freedom from conventional thinking in your life.

Learn more about the other planetary bodies...

We respect your privacy. Our website is using cookies for analytics, language and user settings. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, Privacy Policy and Terms of Sale.
I agree